Skip to main content

File For Divorce In Illinois Easily Today

File your divorce online now and start your next chapter

  • Complete all your details
  • Get your ready-to-sign DIY divorce kit sent to you within 2 business days
  • Payment plans that help you save thousands of dollars and don’t break the bank
  • File your documents in your own time
divorce in Illinois

File For Divorce Online Today in Illinois From Just $84

Divorce attorneys in Illinois cost thousands of dollars. Divorce Bob offers a legally binding agreement that you can complete online and is mailed to you within 2 business days. Divorce papers may seem like a chore, but they are easily managed with a DIY divorce kit.

Ideal for an uncontested divorce, you organize all your assets and liabilities and we produce official divorce papers which can be signed and sent to the courts when you are ready.

Starting from just $84, we also have payment plans available and there is no obligation to proceed. You can take as long as you want!

Our 3 Step Solution To File a Divorce Online

Tell us about your situation

Complete our quick and user-friendly survey in just 20-30 minutes with help from our partners at 3StepDivorce.

Create your very own custom DIY divorce forms at the pace that matches your style.

We cater to both the go-getters who want things done ASAP and the patient planners who believe in theapproach. With your safe and personal account, you will have the freedom to work at your preferred tempo and receive fully prepared divorce forms delivered right to your door in just 2 business days. No matter your speed, we’ve got you covered with automatic progress-saving, ensuring you never have to take a step back.

Get ready to file like a pro! Our filing guide and round-the-clock customer support are here to assist you every step of the way.

Just put your signature on those tailored divorce forms and follow our straightforward filing guide to submit them to your local court.

Got any questions? Our compassionate and well-informed customer support team is just a phone call or email away, ready to assist you.

Who Can File For Divorce In Illinois?

To file for divorce in Illinois, you or your spouse must have been living in the state for at least 90 days. Whether you are filing for a contested or an uncontested divorce, this rule still applies.

Alternatively, you can also file in the state if you or your partner have been stationed in Illinois as a member of the armed services.

You can still file for divorce in Illinois, even if you did not get married within the state.

What Are The Legal Grounds to File For Divorce In Illinois?

As long as you tick the residential requirement mentioned previously, the only grounds for divorce that are recognized in Illinois are ‘irreconcilable differences’.

The law in the state defines this as the “irretrievable breakdown” of a marriage.

Ideally, you want to make the process as simplified and stress-free as possible.

See our guide on making a peaceful divorce.

Does Illinois Require Separation Before You File For Divorce?

No, Illinois does not require a separation period before filing for divorce.

Couples can file for divorce at any time as long as they meet the residency requirements. There is also no waiting period before the process can start – as long as both parties agree to get divorced.

How Is Community Property Divided When You File For Divorce In Illinois?

Illinois is not a community property state, meaning that assets are not split 50/50. Rather, it is an equitable distribution state.

This means that in a divorce, the court will divide property in a manner that is fair and just (or equitable) taking into account factors such as the length of the marriage, the contributions of each spouse to the acquisition and maintenance of the property, and the economic circumstances of each spouse.

In Illinois, property acquired during the marriage by either spouse is generally considered marital property subject to division. However, property acquired by gift, inheritance, or descent is not considered marital property and is therefore exempt from division.

How Much Does Filing For Divorce Cost In Illinois?

The cost of divorce in Illinois varies widely depending on various factors, such as the complexity of the case and whether you hire an attorney or not.

At Divorce Bob, we give you everything you need starting from $99, and all within 2 business days.

The filing fee for a divorce in Illinois is the one cost you can’t escape, and varies from county to county, but is usually around $200 – $400. If you can’t afford the fee, you can ask the court to waive it at their own discretion.

However, if you hire an attorney, the cost for an uncontested divorce can range anywhere from $1,500 to $15,000 or more.

Other expenses may include extra court fees, mediation costs, and any necessary appraisals or evaluations. Overall, the average cost of divorce in Illinois typically ranges from $10,000 to $20,000.

How Long Will It Take To File For Divorced In Illinois?

The timeline for completing a divorce in Illinois can vary based on factors such as the complexity of the case and the cooperation of both parties.

An uncontested divorce takes significantly less time, and can be finalized in as little as 2 months. However, for contested divorces, it could take several months to over a year to finalize a divorce in Illinois.

How Is Child Custody Decided In Illinois?

In Illinois, child custody is determined based on the best interests of the child. In general, Illinois courts recognize legal custody and physical custody.

Legal custody refers to the right to make decisions about the child’s upbringing, such as education, religion, and medical care. Physical custody, on the other hand, refers to where the child will live.

When deciding who will be the primary decision-maker, the court considers various factors. These include the child’s wishes, their relationship with each parent, the financial and mental w of the parents and any issues around violence or abuse.

If there is evidence that one parent is unfit, or if joint custody is not in the child’s best interests, the court may award sole custody to one parent. The court may also order visitationell-being rights for the non-custodial parent.